Massachusetts Democrats Elect Delegates to the Democratic National Convention

The DNC will be in Charlotte, NC, from September 3-7, and local delegates will be there to choose President Obama as the official nominee for the party.

The Massachusetts Democrats elected delegates this past Saturday at statewide caucuses to attend this year’s Democratic National Convention in Charlotte, NC.

Brookline Selectwoman Jesse Mermell was chosen as part of the fourth district delegation, along with representatives from Newton, Needham, Mansfield, Medway and Sharon.

In September, convention delegates will cast their votes to officially nominate President Barack Obama for a second term.

Massachusetts delegates are selected to the Democratic National Convention by three ways, according to the Massachusetts Democratic Party:

  • At this weekend’s caucuses, registered Democrats in each congressional district elected four men, four women and one alternate delegate.
  • On May 5, the Democratic State Committee will elect delegates to represent party leaders and elected officials.
  • Some Democrats are automatic delegates by virtue of holding leadership positions in party organizations or a high-elected office.

Massachusetts Democratic Party Chair John Walsh spoke about the statewide caucuses. “We have elected an impressive and diverse group of delegates who I know will represent Massachusetts with great honor at the Convention this fall,” said Walsh via press release. “Thousands of fired-up grassroots Democrats came out to participate in the delegate selection process because we know how important it is to reelect President Obama and we understand the hard work that lies ahead to keep the Commonwealth and our nation moving forward.”

An * denotes an alternate delegate.
First District Delegates                                              Second District Delegates
Cindy Glazer, Longmeadow                                    Candy Mero Carlson, Worcester
Dori  L. Dean, Holyoke                                             Ellen Story, Amherst
Denise R. Jordan, Springfield                                Judy H. Brooks, Amherst
Sharon Ann Jewell, Chicopee                                 Kathleen Polanowicz, Northborough
E. Henry Twiggs, Springfield                                   Benjamin Ira Schwartz
Burt Freedman, Springfield                                     Joseph P. Carlson, Worcester
Edwand W. Collins, JR, Springfield                       David J. Narkewicz, Northampton
Anthony Soto, Holyoke                                              John P. Brissette, Worcester
Nancy Stenberg*, Southwick                                   John Mahoney*, N. Worcester
Third District Delegates                                            Fourth District Delegates
Faye L. Morrison, Ayer                                               Susan Heyman, Newton
Lisa A. Wong, Fitchburg                                            Jesse Mermell, Brookline
Gail E. Poulten, Chelmsford                                    Carmen Fields, Needham
Patricia Commane, Andover                                    Sharon Stout, Newton
Pavel M. Payano, Lawrence                                     Joseph Kaplan, Mansfield
Thomas J. McGrath, Pepperell                                Martin H. Heyman*, Newton
Samuel Poulten, Chelmsford                                  Randall J. Tatum, Mansfield
Curtis J. LeMay, Lowell                                             Sam Liao, Sharon
Suzzane LeMay*, Lowell                                           Paul Yorkis, Medway
Fifth District Delegates                                             Sixth District Delegates
Cathaleen L. Ashton, Wayland                                 Stella M. Pierce, Beverly       
Rhonda J. Bourne, Waltham                                     Marianne C. P. Rutter, Boxford
Nazda Alam, Weston                                                  Catherine Bayliss, Gloucester
Brigid Kennedy-Pfister, Arlington                              Margaret A. Somer, Swampscott
Joseph P. Caiazza, Stoneham                                   Louis D. Masiello, Salisbury
Russell A. Ashton, Wayland                                      Stanley J. Stepoy, Rowley
Dylan Hayre, Natick                                                     Tom Larkin, Bedford
Robert D. Peters, Lexington                                       Ralph Edwards, Swampscott
Melody L. Adams*, Malden                                         Donald M. Green*, Reading

Seventh District Delegates                                        Eighth District Delegates
Sandi E. Bagley, Boston                                             Susanne M. O’Neil, Quincy
Marie Nicole “Nikko” Mendoza, Mission Hill           Kathleen Manson, Walpole
Samantha Shusterman, Somerville                         Shaynah Barnes, Brockton
Mario Teran, Roslindale                                             Susan M. Kay, Weymouth
Charles C. Yancey, Boston                                         Michael W. Morrissey, Quincy
Felix Arroyo, Boston                                                     Ossie L. Jordan*, JR, Brockton
Tito Jackson, Dorchester                                           Joseph C. Sullivan, Braintree
Karen L. Payne, Roslindale                                      Ross Levanto, Boston
Amanda Jusino*, Boston                                         Jeffrey Sanchez, Jamaica Plain

Ninth District Delegates
Brenda J. Brathwaite, Oak Bluffs
Keri Thompson, Mashpee
Adrienne Wilkins, New Bedford
Mardee Xifaris, Marion
Leon A. Brathwaite II, Oak Bluffs
Ervin L. “Tootsie” Russell, E. Wareham
Steven M. Leibowitz, Brewster
David Holway, Edgartown
Jane Donahue*, Wareham

* denotes an alternate delegate


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »